Templeton Rye Whiskey; Iowa’s Good Stuff!

28 Nov

While doing research for my paper I visited the Templeton, Iowa city website and came across this documentary about the prohibition alcohol that was being made in the little town of less than 400 people.

http://www.iptv.org/video/detail.cfm/22685/templeton_20110927_rye (28 minutes)

http://www.iptv.org/simplepleasures/story.cfm?id=2884&type=story&video=video (5 minutes)

My family hails from Templeton, Iowa and my Great Grandma still lives there.  In 2001 I had the chance to visit the little town surrounded by corn fields.  There are no stop lights, the main street consist of a post office, local hardware store, a mini market, and restaurant.  There is also a local bar that my Grandpa took me to.  However, this bar is unlike any other bar.  It is based on the honor system, you walk behind the bar, pour yourself a drink, and open up the cash register to pay for your drink and enjoy!

However, this little down in the middle of nowhere is famous for one thing; Templeton Rye Whiskey!  Local farmers during the prohibition area distilled this prohibited drink, which has now become a favor for many to sip on.  Templeton Rye can only be found in 4 states, California, being one of the, and available through only one online website.

One story that really stuck out to me that I just discovered recently from my Grandma was that while Al Capon was in jain in Alcatraz he had Templeton Rye shipped from Iowa to him while in the jail.  I’m assuming it was snuck in somewhere.  But what a fun story and claim to fame for a small town lost in the rolling hills of the Iowa corn fields.

Leave a comment